Thursday Sock-Along: The Finished Sock

28137175102_85d8ec2d74_cBehold…a finished sock! Over the weekend I managed to complete sock number one. Once I got past the gusset, things went quickly. With the help of the YouTube videos I’d been watching, I managed the toe shaping and the Kitchener stitch closure. I anticipated problems with the Kitchener stitch as I’ve heard other people in the past dreading that step of sock knitting, but I didn’t have a hard time at all with the process.

27960869230_e0db641171_z

It’s a little loosey goosey in the gusset area, but other than that it fit my foot. At first I was afraid that I’d started the toe shaping too soon and that the sock might end up being too small, but in the end it turned out all right. However, this yarn is awful for sock knitting. It’s way too stiff and scratchy, and not at all comfortable on the foot, so I’ve decided not to bother with the second sock.

Instead I’m going to try the Rose City Rollers pattern. I’m an anklet kinda girl and these look like the perfect pair of socks to work on.

I’m linking up with a few other fellow sock knitters, so be sure to check out their Thursday sock posts, too.

Paula at Spin A Yarn

Hannah at Unsophisticated + Jejune

Alex at Alexand Knits

Katherine at Fiber and Sustenance

 

6 thoughts on “Thursday Sock-Along: The Finished Sock

  1. Congrats on finishing your one sock and learning from it 🙂 I also have a single sock sitting around…hibernating…wanting to know if I’m going to frog it and make something else or finish that second sock. I’ve got the Rose City Rollers in my library too and will get to them one of these days. My sock post should be up soon!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

