Thursday Sock-Along: My First Sock

If I had to guess, I’d say I’ve been knitting for around 15 years or so. I’m not the greatest knitter, nor am I the most knowledgeable knitter. And I’m certainly not the most adventurous knitter. The projects I’ve attempted have been wraps, afghans, scarves, and dishcloths. I’ve stayed put in my comfort zone, which evidently equates to only knitting things that are square or rectangular. I haven’t ventured too much into the realm of apparel…unless you count the sweater I made for my dog a couple of years ago.

I did attempt socks once many years ago when I was a fairly new knitter. It was my first experience using DPNs. Shortly after the cast on, I decided it would be my last experience using DPNs. However, I didn’t want to give up on sock knitting entirely. About a week ago I went on an internet search for an easy sock pattern for beginners and found  Easy Peasy Socks, a pattern that called for worsted weight yarn.

IMG_3449

I went through my stash and found this skein of Big Twist. I picked it simply because I had enough yards, not for the quality of the fiber. After reading through the pattern, I felt like I needed a visual on how to start, so I immediately went to YouTube and found Very Pink Knits series of how-to videos. Her instructions were pretty straight forward and it took me no time at all to get started. I quickly got through the cuff, started the heel flap, and then turned the heel.

28114651215_9acf68fd3f_c

I got a little nervous about picking up stitches for the gusset, and I’ll admit it was not my favorite part of the sock, but I managed to get it done. Now I’m working on the foot and hopefully by next Thursday I will have at least one completed sock.

Oh, in case you’re interested, here’s a list of the videos I’m using to help with my sock:

The pattern discussed in the videos is slightly different than the one I’m using, but I think it can be purchased via her website.

Paula from Spin a Yarn was kind enough to invite me to join in on the Thursday sock party that she has with a few other bloggers. Be sure to check out Paula’s sock post as well as Hannah of unsophisticated+jejune, Alex of alexand knits, and Katherine of Fiber and Sustenance to see where their sock adventures have taken them.

13 thoughts on “Thursday Sock-Along: My First Sock

  1. Woo hoo! I love that you have ventured into sock land 🙂 Your sock is looking awesome! I purchased the pattern that goes along with those videos and they were my very first pair of socks. They weren’t perfect; however they were functional. The videos are a huge help, aren’t they? I’ve linked up with your sock post in mine for this week. I can’t wait to see where you are next week! Don’t worry if you don’t get too far. I’ve had times where I didn’t get any work completed on my socks because of other projects.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So far, they look great…and you’re past the hardest part, so it’s smooth sailing now! I would recommend keeping good notes on what you did for the first sock. I can never remember once I get to the second one, so I rely on my notes to keep them looking like a matched pair. The dpns don’t seem to be giving you any trouble this time around!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Alex! I was surprised at how easy the DPNs were to work with this time around. I figure it’s because I’m using thicker yarn on size 5 needles. The next sock pattern I’ve been eyeballing calls for size 1 needles using sock weight yarn, so we’ll see how that goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

