Scented Toilet Paper – Yay or Nay?

Lavender - photo by Mark Kent

photo by Mark Kent

A couple of weeks ago while doing my grocery shopping, I was down the paper goods aisle perusing the toilet paper. As I grabbed for the double-rolled, econo-sized twelve-pack that I usually get, I noticed something different on the shelf above. Same brand. Same econo-sized twelve-pack, only this one was lavender-scented.

Lavender-scented toilet paper! Holy crap!

Is this a new craze or have I been living under a rock all this time, completely unaware that scented toilet paper was actually a thing?

I stood there for a few seconds, my hand still on the package I usually purchase, and thought, Hey, I like lavender. Really, who doesn’t like lavender? I considered grabbing that pack instead. However, one nanosecond later I came to my senses. Scented toilet paper is not such a great concept after all. I mean…eww. Certain things just shouldn’t smell like lavender. Sachets…yes. Your grandmother…of course. Floor cleaner…definitely. Your nether regions…uh…no, I don’t think so.

It’s hard to say whether or not anybody is buying this stuff because the shelf is always fully stocked. Perhaps I’m not the only one who thinks scented toilet paper shouldn’t exist.

 

Leave a Reply

