Long Time No See

My first post of 2015!

Yes, I have neglected this blog once again, but that has become part of my blogging style. There has been a reason for my longer than usual absence. Nothing earth shattering, mind you. I’ve just been doing some writing.

My version of writing would actually be categorized as not writing. It’s more like planning and outlining for weeks on end. Writing little bits here and there. Starting a scene, then abandoning it. Starting a writing project (in this case, a novel) and abandoning it for what sounds like a better one, then outlining the crap out of that idea.

When I get to the point where it’s time to stop planning and start writing, I cannot articulate into words (or the right words, anyway) the scene that’s going on in my head.

I choke.

What comes next is a downward spiral of despair where every hour of the day I ask myself why I bother. Remind myself that I suck. Who am I kidding? Yada yada yada. After about five or six days of that I come to my senses and realize this is part of the writing process.

Lack of experience, lack of discipline and lack of confidence are holding up my novel-writing progress, so I’ve decided to set it aside for the moment. I have a boatload of unfinished/abandoned writing pieces and only three completed short stories under my belt. Perhaps it’s too soon for me to dive into writing a novel.

The only way to gain experience or confidence is to put in some serious writing practice. And that’s exactly what I plan to do.

Leave a Reply

