Photo Journal: Tis the Season

IMG_2930IMG_2943IMG_2936IMG_2951 - Copy_edited-1IMG_2999IMG_3017IMG_3028-001In my last post I mentioned that I’ve been reading Plate to Pixel by Helene Dujardin. Currently, I’m working my way through Chapter Two, which is about camera settings and modes. On Sunday, I practiced working on exposure – aperture, shutter speed and ISO. Exposure is something I really don’t have the hang of yet, so I took detailed notes, grabbed my camera and walked around the house taking random shots.

It was a gloomy, overcast day and very dark inside the house, which posed a challenge. To start off, I decided to set the camera mode to Aperture Priority and allow the camera to choose the shutter speed for me. In each situation, I took note of how the shutter speed changed based on the angle or lighting in the room, which helped me understand how exposure settings work.

I took about a hundred shots. The above pics are the best of the bunch. I think I’ll stick with learning about the camera settings and modes for the next few weeks before moving on to the next chapter. Maybe by then I’ll have a better handle on how everything works.

2 thoughts on “Photo Journal: Tis the Season

Leave a Reply

