Yarn Along: UFOs and Photography

IMG_3047

The sweater project is on a temporary hold for now.

I completed two swatches for the sweater, one on size 9 straight needles and one on size 9 circulars. My gauge was perfect on the straight needles, however, they’re too short to knit a sweater. The circulars are a hair slimmer than the straight needles and my gauge was off a bit on that swatch, so I thought I’d try a swatch on size 10 circulars.

I went on a hunt for my size 10’s and found them with an abandoned project attached to them. The bag was a little too complex for me four or five years ago when I first started, and I’d ripped it apart at least three times and re-knit it, getting to about the same point each time and screwing up the pattern. It ended up stuffed in a plastic bag, which was then stuffed into a big tote bag with several other unfinished objects.

My plans of starting the sweater this weekend were completely shot when I discovered those other projects. One thing I found was the garter stitch scarf shown above. I started it long ago and never finished. It’s a big chunky design done on size US 35 needles. I finished it up on Sunday night. I’m not really sure why I bother with scarves. I live in South Florida and have never in over 30 years of living here used a scarf, but now I have another one to add to my small collection.

The question now is – Do I work on the bag or do I just remove those size 10 needles from that project and move on to the sweater? There was also a small lap blanket found in that stash of UFOs, which is also calling my name. Decisions, decisions…

On to books.

IMG_3004I’m still reading my mystery from last week and enjoying it. I’ve been itching to get in some photography practice, so this weekend I pulled out my copy of Plate to Pixel by Helene Dujardin. I’ve been a fan of her blog for years, mainly because I have an obsession with food photography. I have no particular interest in photographing food myself, but I admire Helene’s photography skill and I’d like to learn how to become a better photographer. Hence, the reason why I bought her book. It’s been sitting on my bookshelf for over a year, and I decided it’s about time I cracked it open.

I decided to go through the book slowly and start with the basics. Right now I’m re-learning about exposure. My plan is to experiment with different exposure settings until I really understand what I’m doing and somewhat master those basic ideas. Then, I’ll move onto the next section in the book.

Over the weekend, I took quite a few practice photos, which I’ll be posting some time this week. It’ll be interesting to see how I progress.

Linking with Ginny’s Yarn Along

 

One Comment on “Yarn Along: UFOs and Photography”

  1. Kat says:

    Finish the UFOs! Then you can start the new year with new yarn and projects 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

