Yarn Along: A Swatch and a Mystery

knittingandreading

Every Wednesday, Ginny over at Small Things (a blog I just discovered the other day) has a Yarn Along, where knitters link up and share their latest knitting project as well as what books they’re currently reading. This week I thought I’d join in on the fun.

I’ve been knitting for years now, but I’ve stuck with fairly easy projects like scarves, dishcloths, and uncomplicated afghans. Sock and garment patterns have always intimidated me, but I’ve decided to take the plunge and try a sweater. Nina’s Design Your Own Sweater Class from Knit Picks is a series of video tutorials that I found on YouTube and so far they seem to be pretty easy to understand.

The yarn I’m using is Vanna’s Choice by Lion Brand. It’s 100% acrylic. I’m hoping it doesn’t end up feeling too scratchy, but I have enough balls of it to make a sweater. Since this is my first attempt at making a garment, my expectations are set fairly low as far as the outcome of this project. The goal is to actually finish and make a sweater that fits. That’s really all I care about at this point.

I’ve started by creating a few swatches to check my gauge before I proceed to the next lesson in the class. Over the weekend I’ll move on to the next step – casting on and working the hem.

The book I’m reading is The Diva Runs Out of Thyme, a mystery by Krista Davis. I’m about one hundred pages in and so far it’s a pretty good read. Sophie, the main character, keeps finding dead bodies, and she’s become one of the main suspects in the murders. I like a good mystery. It’s always fun to try to guess the real killer. Right now, though, I don’t have a clue whodunit.

5 thoughts on “Yarn Along: A Swatch and a Mystery

  1. I felt very reluctant to start something new and ‘complicated’, too. But then I read a book about courage (in children) and decided to just go for it. Therefore, this week I’ve finished my first raglan cardigan and I’m so very happy! I had to do a bit of frogging inbetween though… but it’s been worth it! So, just keep going, it will make you happy 🙂

    Like

  2. So glad you joined in! I get so much inspiration from other knitters’ projects and feel like I get to know some wonderful people in the process. Good luck with your sweater! That’s so great! I have found that I love knitting sweaters most. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

