Making Sacrifices to Reach Goals

In order to reach a goal, any goal, sacrifices need to be made. For example, if you want to lose weight, you need to eat less food and exercise. You might need to give up certain foods, and you’ll also need to carve out time for your exercise regimen.

In the grand scheme of things, giving up certain behaviors and activities in your life is just an inevitable part of the goal-reaching process. Once we fully grasp and understand that concept, the easier it will be to achieve those goals.

With writing, the more you do it the better you become – at least in theory. My goal is to become a published author, and in order to achieve that goal I need to make some of my own sacrifices. One of which is bowing out of a reading challenge that I signed up for at the beginning of the year. I need to devote more of my spare time to writing, which means less time spent on reading. I signed up for a few challenges but decided one will be enough.

I’ve also set a specific writing schedule for certain days of the week and decided to treat my writing as a part-time job. By doing this, I’m more apt to stick with it rather than blow it off to watch the Real Housewives, play computer games or chat on the phone.

Paring down my reading challenges and spending less time watching mindless bullshit on television are just a couple of sacrifices that I’ve made while working on my writing goals.

Now, how about you? What kind of sacrifices have you made in order to achieve past or present goals?

6 thoughts on “Making Sacrifices to Reach Goals

  1. Totally I agree with you very good post love it! One of my basic sacrifices is for being and for staying healthy to change my eating habit’s like more fresh vegetables, fruits & food especially organic and not eating any more packaged long shelved life killer foods because they shorten our life’s and especially the quality of our life’s.

    Like

    1. Eating healthy is a great goal. It’ll be easier to make those sacrifices if you keep reminding yourself of the reasons why you want to stay healthy, especially when you want to cheat and eat packaged junk.

      Like

  2. I think looking at writing as a job, even if you have a day/night job is a good way to go about it. I find myself achieving more that way. I have ‘sacrificed’ a lot of my free time and hobbies to make sure I keep going with my writing, but then, I love writing so much I don’t find myself missing those things as much now 😀 Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

