Gardening Progress and Other Updates

cucumbers and tomatoes_edited-1

I have tomatoes and cucumbers!

During the last week of March, I planted some veggie seeds. You can read about my DIY seed starting adventure here.

I planted the following: Two types of heirloom tomatoes, arugula, and some herbs. A few weeks later, I also started some cucumbers. When the seedlings were ready, I planted them in pots and put them outside. I also planted some radishes, carrots and lettuce. The radishes aren’t doing so well and neither is the lettuce, and the carrots are being overrun by the out of control cucumber in the pot pictured above. I have lots of baby cukes though and about five or six tomatoes so far. Hopefully all will go well and I’ll be eating homegrown veggies this summer.

As you can tell, I haven’t posted much for the past couple of months. My intention is to post more frequently. I’m thinking three times a week, and the tentative plan is a Monday/Wednesday/Friday schedule. Meanwhile, here’s a little update of what I’ve been up to lately.

Crafting: None. I’ve done absolutely no crafting at all. Still haven’t finished my Le Gran stole, and would not be surprised if I never finish it. I have been itching to start knitting again. For Christmas, I received enough yarn to make an afghan, and I have a pattern in mind that incorporates cables – a knitting technique I want to learn more about.

Books: I’ve read a couple of books over the past couple months. First I read The Effortless Life by Leo Babauta. I read Leo’s blog Zen Habits periodically so I thought I’d read one of his books. This book is about things you can do in your life to practice being more mindful and living a more contented life. Some ideas I agreed with and some not so much, but I gave it three stars.

The second book I read was Lisa Scottoline’s Moment of Truth. I haven’t read one of her books in a long time, and this one didn’t disappoint. It was a fast-paced legal thriller. I plan on doing a full review soon when I find more time.

I haven’t made much progress with my Good Reads challenge. It’s almost halfway through the year and I’m only at 20% of my goal. I’m currently reading Love Overboard by Janet Evanovich, so that’ll help toward meeting my goal.

Writing: I recently finished a 12-week long fiction writing workshop, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Fiction writing is a huge interest of mine and I learned a lot from this workshop. I also received some really positive feedback, which gave me a much needed boost in confidence.

And last but not least, if you’re still reading this long-winded post, I rejoined Weight Watchers at the end of March. I’ve managed to lose almost 10 pounds, but it hasn’t been easy. To try and keep me on track, I’ve created two new boards on Pinterest (here and here) to help with motivation and bookmark low-cal recipes.

That, in a nutshell, is what I’ve been up to.

How about you? Have you crafted much, written anything interesting, or read any good books lately? I’d love to hear about it!

2 Comments on “Gardening Progress and Other Updates”

  1. Leslie says:

    No crafting, but I'm on Fearless Fourteen of the Stephanie Plum series. I love Janet Evanovich's books, I swear I laugh out loud through every one of them. Nice pin boards by the way!

    Like

  2. The entire Stephanie Plum series is on my "to read" list. The first one was really funny.

    Like


Leave a Reply

