I’m A Book Hoarder

bookcase, books, unread fiction_edited-1

Actually, I’m a hoarder of many things, but today I’ll just be focusing on my book obsession.

Over the weekend I was doing a little spring cleaning. A rather unusual activity for me. One thing I do not obsess about is cleaning, so when the urge hits me, I take full advantage of it. Anyhoo, part of my cleaning involved a bookcase tucked away in a corner of my bedroom. As I swiffered away the thin layer of dust covering the shelves, I realized that most of the books lining those shelves had never been read. Then some pretty obvious questions popped into my head: Why is that? What’s been keeping me from reading all of these books?

I pondered the answers as I continued to clean and came up with the following list of reasons:

  • No Time: Most people would think that a single, childless adult would have plenty of time on her hands to read, but that’s actually not true. Obviously, working full time eats up a lot of my time during the week. For the past few years, most free time that I’ve had has been spent working on crafts – knitting, making jewelry, etc. So that hasn’t left much room for reading, yet I still buy books. I just can’t help myself.
  • Too Tired: I’ve been dealing with chronic fatigue issues for many years. I’m not saying I have chronic fatigue syndrome – I’ve never been diagnosed, or worked up for it for that matter – I’m just simply chronically fatigued. I live a pretty sedentary life as well as hold a job that requires me to sit in front of a computer eight or more hours a day, so it’s really no surprise that I have no energy. Anytime I pick up a book, within two or three pages my eyes are drooping and I’m ready for a nap.
  • Reality TV: I will admit that I am a reality TV junkie, or at least I was. Real Housewives, Top Chef, Project Runway, Mob Wives, Deadliest Catch, Big Brother, Survivor – you name, I’ve watched it. Spending too much time in front of the TV didn’t leave much time for reading.

As of now, I’m not crafting much at all and I don’t spend nearly as much time watching TV as I once did. I’ve also been working on my fatigue issues by starting to exercise and changing my sleeping habits – going to bed the same time every night, getting up the same time every morning and not hitting the snooze button 8 times before dragging myself out of bed – so I’ve had a little more stamina lately. I have no excuse for not reading anymore.

I’m still working on my Good Reads challenge and I’ve decided to add the following unread books from my collection to help me meet my goal:

unread books, fiction_edited-1
  • No Time For Goodbye by Linwood Barclay
  • Blood Vines by Erica Spindler
  • Moment of Truth by Lisa Scottoline
  • The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson
  • The Innocent by Harlan Coben
  • All Around Town by Mary Higgins Clark
  • Two For The Dough by Janet Evanovich
  • The Manhattan Hunt Club by John Saul
  • Have Your Cake and Kill Him Too by Nancy Martin
  • Dirty Blonde by Lisa Scottoline

I have a variety of genres lining my shelves, the bulk of them mysteries and thrillers, which is the category the above titles fall under. These should keep me busy for awhile. Once I tackle the bookcase, then I’ll move onto the unread titles on my Kindle and maybe get a handle on my book hoarding problem.

4 Comments on “I’m A Book Hoarder”

  1. Alison says:

    I'm a total book hoarder too!I'm reading 4 books simultaneously, crazy right? :)Stopping by from SITS.

    Like

  2. Hi Alison! It's good to know there are other book hoarders out there. Reading 4 books a the same time??? I should be so ambitious. Two at a time is my limit. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Like

  3. Leslie says:

    My book hoarding is all on my kindle these days. I realized I was running out of space to store books and I was tired of the dust they all gathered (too many asthmatics in this house) so I donated them all and now I use the kindle or borrow from the library. ps….love, love, love Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, I'm reading Twelve Sharp right now!!

    Like

  4. I was running out of room to store any books, which is why I bought the Kindle, but I still buy books every now and then. I just can't seem to help myself. Thanks to things like Kindle daily deals on Amazon, my unread list of e-books is getting longer. I've only read the first Stephanie Plum. Janet Evanovich is hilarious and I plan on reading the rest in the series.

    Like


Leave a Reply

