Time For A Little Refocusing

I’ve been missing in action again. I haven’t felt much like writing lately. Actually, I haven’t felt like doing much of anything either. I stopped working on my Le Gran stole, which should have been finished by now. And my One Word project has not gotten off to a good start.

The word I chose for the year is Focus. I made a list of key things I wanted to focus on throughout this year. You know, things I want to try, things I want to improve upon…blah, blah, blah. Well I haven’t focused on anything. Much of December was spent making lists of things I want to do in 2013, projects I want to take on, changes in my life that need to happen. I had grand plans, and I was going to start focusing on those plans the first day of January.

I planned on updating my blog at least three times a week. One of my days off each week was to be spent practicing my photography. I was going to designate a certain amount of time to sit and write every day. I was going to completely overhaul my diet and start exercising on a regular basis, organize the garage, read at least 2 books a month, and be more social, hang out with friends or maybe even get out and meet new people.

Guess what? That didn’t happen, at least to the degree of gusto I thought it might happen. What I ended up doing was overwhelming myself with too many things to focus on at one time. I haven’t updated my blog, haven’t taken any pictures, haven’t written much, didn’t organize the garage, and haven’t been very social at all. I started to focus a little on my diet but I haven’t started exercising, and I’m still trying to read A Cottage by the Sea (I’m having a hard time getting through this book).

So I’ve decided the best thing for me to do is focus on one thing at a time, and I’m starting with writing. Writing a little bit every day to get in the habit. Writing is something that I really like to do, and it’s also something I would like to earn a living from some day in some capacity, whether that means writing fiction, magazine articles, blogging, or some other kind of writing.

Starting now I’m refocusing on my word Focus. The way to reach a goal is to take baby steps to get there, at least that’s the best way for me to accomplish anything, and that’s what I’m going to do.

Leave a Reply

