Out With The Old, In With The New

For some reason I seem to blow off blogging for the month of December. I did last year and the year before. So not posting this December was really no surprise for me. I don’t know what it is about this particular month that causes me to become lazy and all but abandon my blog. I’m not any busier than any other month of the year – well maybe a little bit busier, but nothing too out of hand.

For me, December signifies the winding down of a year. It’s usually a time when I go over in my head all the things I did over the past year, as well as those things that didn’t get accomplished. Then of course, there’s ample time spent on reflection of what’s to come in the new year.

The beginning of a new year represents a clean slate. I don’t know about you, but I always have a million ideas swirling around in my mind of things I want to do each year. New projects I want to take on. New goals I want to accomplish. New things I want to try. I get excited about the prospects of my annual goals, but I have a tendency to overwhelm myself with all of the things I want to do. And it never fails, I end up getting myself very unorganized and then I just lose focus all together.

Lack of focus is a recurring theme in my life, so in 2013 I want to concentrate on keeping myself centered.

For the past few weeks I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about the things I want to do in 2013. One thing I’ve decided to do is start a year-long project that I’m calling My One Word Project (MOWP for short). Ali Edwards teaches a class called One Little Word. Basically you choose a word that is something you want for yourself in the coming year. Something that will allow you to grow as a person. For example, in her class description, Ali mentions that some previous words she has chosen were play, peace, and vitality. The class offers creative projects and writing prompts to get you to focus on your word and incorporate that word into your life. Along the way, you document your progress in a scrapbook.

I have to say, I like this concept. I like the idea of how one word can give you direction. Direction is something I need. And you want to know something else that I need? I need focus. I lack focus. It’s the main reason why many projects that I’ve started remain unfinished. Its the reason why I’ve yet to lose the weight that I need to lose, as well as exercise like I should. I’m unorganized and scattered brained at times, and it’s all because I lack focus. So, if you haven’t figured it out by now, my word for 2013 is…FOCUS.

I won’t be participating in the One Little Word class, and I won’t be scrapbooking my progress, but I’ll be documenting my journey along the way right here through blog posts. I’m kind of excited and can’t way to see where this project might take me.

What will your one word be for 2013?

One Comment on “Out With The Old, In With The New”

  1. […] you read my last post, then you know that I am starting a year-long project that I’ve dubbed My One Word Project, […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

