Work In Progress: Le Gran Stole

knitting the le gran stole

I am, without a doubt, the slowest knitter in the world. Case in point: the Le Gran Stole. I started this project on January 10, 2011. It’ll soon be January 2013 and I’m still not finished. This is an easy scarf/wrap done in a 2 x 2 rib. It’s fairly mindless knitting – the kind that would take most knitters a day or two to complete. At this point, I’m right around the halfway point and I really hope it doesn’t take another 2 years to finish the other half.

le gran stole

One thing I like about this wrap is the lacy, airy pattern. It’s not too heavy, yet it’ll be enough to keep the chill off during the mild winters we get down south. I did alter the pattern a little bit. The original was more like a wide scarf. I wanted something that seemed a little more substantial and wider, so I doubled the amount of cast on stitches.

The yarn I’m using gives me fits, though. It’s an acrylic/mohair/wool blend and likes to tangle itself up while I’m knitting, which causes me to stop what I’m doing and spend 15 minutes cursing while trying to unknot my yarn. Another reason it’s taking me so long to finish. I get a little irritated with it and set it aside to work on other projects.

However, lately, I’ve been spending some quality time with the Le Gran Stole and hope to have it finished before the end of this winter. We’ll see how that goes.

One thought on “Work In Progress: Le Gran Stole

Leave a Reply

