Evolution of the Bee – Part Two

IMG_9889_edited-1

When we left off in my last post, the bee was temporarily banished to the closet. While the bee waited patiently to be completed, I spent some time figuring how to finish this project. I decided I would turn it into a decorative potholder – one that will never get used of course. I worked hard on this thing and I certainly don’t want to risk staining it up with tomato soup or refried beans.

I went on a search for the perfect backing fabric and lucked out with a great black and white floral print that tied into the vintage look of the bee motif. Oh, one thing I forgot to mention is  that I’ve never sewn anything before, so not only was this my first official embroidery project, it was also my first hand-sewn project.

IMG_9951_edited-1

With the guidance of my mother’s sewing experience, I managed to cut out and hand sew together all of the pieces that made up this potholder.

IMG_9964
IMG_0231_edited-2
IMG_0243_edited-1

Then came time to add the binding, and, again, the bee was placed on the back burner for another year. Actually, just 2 weeks shy of a full year. Last week, I added the binding around the edge of the potholder to finally complete this project.

IMG_1968_edited-1

So, what did I learn from this 2-year long saga of the bee?

  • Well, I learned that I really like embroidery. It’s relaxing and challenging all at the same time.
  • I found out that my favorite stitch (so far) is the French knot.
  • Even though this took me an eternity to complete, the sense of accomplishment feels the same as if I would have finished it within a couple weeks or months.
  • I also found out that I enjoyed hand sewing so much that I’m now eager to embark on some sewing projects.

The embroidered busy bee is one project that I can cross off my list of UFOs (unfinished objects). Now…what to embroider next?

Leave a Reply

