Taking Inventory

 Yesterday, I spent a good portion of the day taking inventory of my yarn stash. I have a bad habit of “collecting” yarn. Whenever I’m in a store that sells it, nine times out of ten I will walk out with a few new skeins. I’ll never have a specific project in mind, but a particular color or yarn type will draw me in that I must have, all the while thinking to myself I’ll get around to using it someday. When I do find a new pattern to try, I immediately decide on what yarn I’m going to buy for the project. I never seem to hunt around in my stash to see if I might have a fiber that’ll work; thus, the beginning of a collection.

Lately, I’ve been in an organizational kind of mood and decided to sort through my stash and utilize Ravelry’s yarn stash feature to keep track of everything. When I started this project, I had no idea it would turn into a multi-day event.

I laid everything out on the coffee table and grouped all the yarn by brand and type. Then I logged onto Ravelry and began entering the yarn info and how many skeins I have of each. After entering everything I realized that I should take pictures of each type of yarn. Having a visual stash list to scan though will make life a whole lot easier as far as I’m concerned.

The picture taking took quite a bit of my time because I don’t know how to take a good picture, but I managed to get it all done before it was time to start dinner. Now, I’m working on editing the photos and uploading them to Ravelry, which will take me a few more days.

The majority of my yarn stash fits in a large plastic storage container, with a little bit of overflow into a basket that serves as décor in my craft room. Now that I know exactly how much yarn I own and have it stored pretty much in one container, I feel a bit more in control and organized.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

